Friday, 11 October 2019

Lagavulin 10 Review

Hi everyone,

I’ve got another new one today, a Lagavulin exclusive to the travel retail.
Its interesting to me that Laga only had the 16 for such a long time and now, in the space of a year, we’ve had an 8yo, 9yo & now this 10 all released.
I had the chance to try this just briefly in the airport on my way out to the states.

Lagavulin 10 43%
Colour: Gold
Body: Full
Nose: Sea spray, soft smoke, oily lemon, wood smoke, not a load of complexity but pleasant. Very much like Talisker 10 on the nose, and if someone gave this to me blind that’s probably what I would guess it as.
Taste: Quite intense actually, big brash smoke, heavy oils, lemon citrus, big malty character, some burnt heather, a bit earthy
Finish: Long length. Drying, a bit unbalanced here with an abrasive thing, spicy chilli.
Fine whisky, more intense and oily than I expected for 43%. I don’t think I like this as much as the 16 though as its more simple and the finish much harsher.
71/100

Thanks for reading!

Scotch Review #793
Whisky Network Review #945

Network Average: 75.1
Best Score: 94
Worst Score: 12
0-49 Terrible
50-59 Bad
60-64 Just About OK
65-69 Ok to Good
70-74 Good
75-79 Very Good
80-84 Excellent
85-89 Superb
90+ Magnificent

Full Disclosure Disclaimer: I currently work as the Global Brand Ambassador for Penderyn Distillery. The views expressed here are purely my own and do not reflect the views of Penderyn Distillery or The Welsh Whisky Company. I try to maintain as much objectivity as I can but feel free to take my reviews with as big a pinch of salt as you like. Furthermore, my rating scale is NOT based on a Parker type wine scoring scale or a school/college/university % or A-F grade score. You can find more on my scoring here. I apologise for any seemly low or 'bad' scores given with my system and I am sorry I can't say only nice things. Please keep in mind that I am ethically compromised and I am unable to produce 100% unbiased reviews.

Tuesday, 8 October 2019

Benrinnes 2006 Adelphi Review

Hi everyone,

Arriving at the Whisky Exchange show this year, I had one whisky that I knew I needed to get my grubby paws on if I could: a dark as all hell Benrinnes that Adelphi had released and had sold out everywhere almost instantly online. A pre-2007 Benrinnes at that.
Luckily they had some to try as it proved fairly unusual…

Benrinnes 2006 Adelphi 55.5%
Colour: Dark Amber
Body: Full
Nose: Black cherry sauce, wet tweed, wet hay and grass but weird, clean but there's an off note. Doesn't really smell like whisky.
Taste: Oily, cherry and chocolate, spices with black pepper, wet tweed again and the that weird off note from the nose.
Finish: Long length. Wet tweed, weird wood and pepper.
On paper the greatest whisky ever, in practice I wouldn't even guess this was whisky blind. A real shame as I was very tempted to buy one.
However, this could be that its just going to be a very polarising whisky. Initial whiskybase rating look to be really high, so it could just be me…
52/100

Thanks for reading!

Scotch Review #792
Whisky Network Review #944

Network Average: 75.1
Best Score: 94
Worst Score: 12
0-49 Terrible
50-59 Bad
60-64 Just About OK
65-69 Ok to Good
70-74 Good
75-79 Very Good
80-84 Excellent
85-89 Superb
90+ Magnificent

Full Disclosure Disclaimer: I currently work as a Brand Ambassador for Penderyn Distillery. The views expressed here are purely my own and do not reflect the views of Penderyn Distillery or The Welsh Whisky Company. I try to maintain as much objectivity as I can but feel free to take my reviews with as big a pinch of salt as you like. Furthermore, my rating scale is NOT based on a Parker type wine scoring scale or a school/college/university % or A-F grade score. You can find more on my scoring here. I apologise for any seemly low or 'bad' scores given with my system and I am sorry I can't say only nice things. Please keep in mind that I am ethically compromised and I am unable to produce 100% unbiased reviews.

Sunday, 6 October 2019

Glenfiddich 23 Grand Cru Review

Hi everyone,

Continuing from Ardbeg 19, we have another expensive whisky today from Glenfiddich.
This Grand Cru will cost you £220 in the UK and has not been particularly well explained. I thought this was a continuation of their Experimental Series but is, in fact, part of a new series of whiskies modestly entitled ‘Grand.’
I had also thought that this was finished in Grand Cru red wine barrels, but this is not the case either. It is instead finished in barrels that had been used to ferment what would become Grand Cru Champagne. Interesting…
What does the whisky taste like though, let’s find out.

Glenfiddich 23 Grand Cru 40%
Colour: Gold
Body: Light/Medium
Nose: Oxidised red apple, orange, some sulphur, icing, red grape, mixed spice, toffee. Good complexity but notes don’t quite work together.
Taste: A bit sharp, apple and spice, lacking power then watery apple and orange juice, a little sulphur, tannin, flat throughout.
Finish: Long length. Chocolate, watery again, quite long but lacking.
Very meh for the money you’d have to pay. And, much like Winter Storm, I really don’t see much of an influence the casks have had on this. And seriously, 40% William Grant? 40%?!
64/100

Thanks for reading!

Scotch review #791
Whisky Network Review #943

Network Average: 75.1
Best Score: 94
Worst Score: 12
0-49 Terrible
50-59 Bad
60-64 Just About OK
65-69 Ok to Good
70-74 Good
75-79 Very Good
80-84 Excellent
85-89 Superb
90+ Magnificent

Full Disclosure Disclaimer: I currently work as a Brand Ambassador for Penderyn Distillery. The views expressed here are purely my own and do not reflect the views of Penderyn Distillery or The Welsh Whisky Company. I try to maintain as much objectivity as I can but feel free to take my reviews with as big a pinch of salt as you like. Furthermore, my rating scale is NOT based on a Parker type wine scoring scale or a school/college/university % or A-F grade score. You can find more on my scoring here. I apologise for any seemly low or 'bad' scores given with my system and I am sorry I can't say only nice things. Please keep in mind that I am ethically compromised and I am unable to produce 100% unbiased reviews.

Thursday, 3 October 2019

Ardbeg 19 (New 2019 Release) Review

Hi everyone,

More from the new releases tasted at the Whisky Exchange Show. Next up: Ardbeg.
The problem I have with Ardbeg releasing new whisky is that the quality and value of the 10, Oog and Corry are so so good that anything else has trouble competing. So when Ardbeg annouced that they would be bringing out a 19yo age statement whisky as a permanent part of their range, I was sceptical as to the quality of such a whisky but more the value because, of course, its going to be a lot more money than the others.
Anyway, for science, I decided to try it.

Ardbeg 19 (2019) 46.2%
Colour: Straw
Body: Medium
Nose: Classic Ardbeg but elevated and ethereal, oily lime juice, tame smoke, ash. Kinda creamy but that's about it.
Taste: Dry arrival, biscuit, very soft, oily, lime juice, some oak comes in, light spices, creamy, a bit flat in places.
Finish: Short/Medium length. Creamy and oily, but not a lot of smoke here at all.
Restrained Ardbeg, more about mouthfeel than actual flavour but loses points for complexity. Not recommended at the price, I'd rather have the 10yo.
This ain’t bad whisky but I rate it the same as an Oa, and this will be triple the price I believe.
74/100

Thanks for reading!

Scotch Review #790
Whisky Network Review #942

Network Average: 75.1
Best Score: 94
Worst Score: 12
0-49 Terrible
50-59 Bad
60-64 Just About OK
65-69 Ok to Good
70-74 Good
75-79 Very Good
80-84 Excellent
85-89 Superb
90+ Magnificent

Full Disclosure Disclaimer: I currently work as a Brand Ambassador for Penderyn Distillery. The views expressed here are purely my own and do not reflect the views of Penderyn Distillery or The Welsh Whisky Company. I try to maintain as much objectivity as I can but feel free to take my reviews with as big a pinch of salt as you like. Furthermore, my rating scale is NOT based on a Parker type wine scoring scale or a school/college/university % or A-F grade score. You can find more on my scoring here. I apologise for any seemly low or 'bad' scores given with my system and I am sorry I can't say only nice things. Please keep in mind that I am ethically compromised and I am unable to produce 100% unbiased reviews.

Wednesday, 2 October 2019

Macallan Edition No.5 Review

Hi everyone,

I was lucky enough to be at the Whisky Exchange Show last weekend and had the chance to try a few whiskies. Me being me I decided that I’d try to get hold of some new releases that I thought people might be considering buying.
This is Macallan’s latest whisky from their Editions series, which have been pretty good in the past because they’re released at a higher strength. I had tried the Edition 3 but lost my notes, anyway I found it impressive.
This, number 5, is released to celebrate Macallan’s natural colour and so they had their own special colour made by some colour institute or something. All sounds like marketing to me, and the colour of the labels looks gross anyway.

Macallan Edition 5 48.5%
Colour: Luxurious cinder mixed with transcendent quail egg pink tinged golden cloudscape
Body: Medium
Nose: Very Macallan with a bit of candied orange peel, honey, golden raisin, heavy malt, chocolate truffles, a bit of sulphur after a minute.
Taste: Soft and sweet, honey, heather, heavy malt, chocolate, quite dry though, flat wood, orange and ginger spice.
Finish: Medium length. Chocolate orange, ginger and black pepper.
Pretty average boring Macallan. Nice nose.
73/100

Thanks for reading!

Scotch Review #789
Whisky Network Review #941

Network Average: 75.1
Best Score: 94
Worst Score: 12
0-49 Terrible
50-59 Bad
60-64 Just About OK
65-69 Ok to Good
70-74 Good
75-79 Very Good
80-84 Excellent
85-89 Superb
90+ Magnificent

Full Disclosure Disclaimer: I currently work as a Brand Ambassador for Penderyn Distillery. The views expressed here are purely my own and do not reflect the views of Penderyn Distillery or The Welsh Whisky Company. I try to maintain as much objectivity as I can but feel free to take my reviews with as big a pinch of salt as you like. Furthermore, my rating scale is NOT based on a Parker type wine scoring scale or a school/college/university % or A-F grade score. You can find more on my scoring here. I apologise for any seemly low or 'bad' scores given with my system and I am sorry I can't say only nice things. Please keep in mind that I am ethically compromised and I am unable to produce 100% unbiased reviews.

Wednesday, 25 September 2019

Four Roses 125th Anniversary & 2x Single Barrels Reviews

Hi everyone,

Something unusual from me today, American whiskey.
I haven’t reviewed any Bourbon for a while and since I’ve actually been in the US quite a bit recently, I’ve been able to try some stuff that doesn’t really make it over to the UK.
In particular, I’ve been very impressed with Four Roses and it might start becoming a new favourite of mine Bourbon-wise.

Four Roses 125th Anniversary 57.6%
Colour: Bronze
Body: Medium
Nose: Interesting, light and creamy, some cooling abv, clean vanilla, perfumed oak, Parma violets, chocolate covered nuts.
Taste: Dry arrival, then soft and oily, building back up again with the perfume, dry flowery oak, dried flower petals, super dry but super good.
Finish: Long length. Chewy, floral and perfumed. Great finish with a little spiciness coming through.
Marriage of 13yo and 18yo.
79/100
 
Four Roses OBSQ Single Barrel 59.8%
Colour: Dark Bronze
Body: Medium
Nose: Ethereal and delicate, corn and rye quite clear and clean, some v light chilli spice, butterscotch.
Water: The fruit comes out with a cool vanilla-y raspberry thing going on. Cherry too.
Taste: Soft and very oily, amazing mouthfeel, dry oak building up with spice, vanilla and clove, some white pepper then going oily again into the finish. Some chocolate and cashew nut in there too.
Water: Really soft now, but good, dry oak and more intense spice with black pepper and big tannins, black liquorice into the finish. Cherry pith.
Finish: Medium length. Again, great oiliness, delicate spice and dry oak.
OBSQ, 35% Rye. 9 years, 7 months. Selected by Fine Wine & Good Spirits, 26th Ed. All about the mouthfeel, bone dry whisky.
77/100
 
Four Roses OBSO Single barrel 56%
Colour: Bronze
Body: Medium/Full
Nose: Stunning. The richness is awesome with lovely fragrant wood, complex chocolate that stays with you after you leave the glass, chocolate truffles, chocolate powder, complex spices with stem ginger, liquorice, white pepper, creamy vanilla, dry nose overall but a lot of complexity for a Bourbon, very impressive.
Taste: Great arrival, dry and fruity with red apple, brown sugar, molasses, quite rich but not heavy, quite drying but not too much, plenty of sawn wood, then the chocolate truffles come in and they are delicious.
Finish: Long length. More herbal here with rosemary and thyme, slightly over-oxidised red apple, the wood takes a back seat.
11 years, 8 months. Selected by Liquor Barn. Best Bourbon I've tried so far, which puts it above the Pappy’s and Blantons Gold. Many many thank yous go to u/Devoz for providing this sample for me to take home.
84/100

Thanks for reading!

American reviews #61-#63
Whisky Network Reviews #938-#940

Network Average: 75.1
Best Score: 94
Worst Score: 12
0-49 Terrible
50-59 Bad
60-64 Just About OK
65-69 Ok to Good
70-74 Good
75-79 Very Good
80-84 Excellent
85-89 Superb
90+ Magnificent

Full Disclosure Disclaimer: I currently work as a Brand Ambassador for Penderyn Distillery. The views expressed here are purely my own and do not reflect the views of Penderyn Distillery or The Welsh Whisky Company. I try to maintain as much objectivity as I can but feel free to take my reviews with as big a pinch of salt as you like. Furthermore, my rating scale is NOT based on a Parker type wine scoring scale or a school/college/university % or A-F grade score. You can find more on my scoring here. I apologise for any seemly low or 'bad' scores given with my system and I am sorry I can't say only nice things. Please keep in mind that I am ethically compromised and I am unable to produce 100% unbiased reviews.

Monday, 23 September 2019

Stronachie 10 Review

Hi everyone,

A mystery malt today I tried a good while back. Here in the UK I believe that Majestic (the wine shop) have this as an exclusive so its not super available but not too expensive.

Stronachie 10 43%
Colour: Light Gold
Body: Light/Medium
Nose: Sweet, apple, malt, vanilla, spice. Classic fresh Bourbon matured Speyside, if a little boring for it.
Taste: Again, classic 1st Fill Bourbon matured Speyside. Vanilla, spice, baked apple, some citrus, a little burnt pastry, spice, nutty. Good mouthfeel for 43%.
Finish: Medium length. Nutty oak, some bitter oak char.
Benrinnes reputably. Pretty decent actually, although I probably wouldn’t peg it as a Benrinnes blind.
68/100

Thanks for reading!

Scotch Review #788
Whisky Network Review #937

Network Average: 75.1
Best Score: 94
Worst Score: 12
0-49 Terrible
50-59 Bad
60-64 Just About OK
65-69 Ok to Good
70-74 Good
75-79 Very Good
80-84 Excellent
85-89 Superb
90+ Magnificent

Full Disclosure Disclaimer: I currently work as a Brand Ambassador for Penderyn Distillery. The views expressed here are purely my own and do not reflect the views of Penderyn Distillery or The Welsh Whisky Company. I try to maintain as much objectivity as I can but feel free to take my reviews with as big a pinch of salt as you like. Furthermore, my rating scale is NOT based on a Parker type wine scoring scale or a school/college/university % or A-F grade score. You can find more on my scoring here. I apologise for any seemly low or 'bad' scores given with my system and I am sorry I can't say only nice things. Please keep in mind that I am ethically compromised and I am unable to produce 100% unbiased reviews.

VLOG